top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaQuette

Texas Gift: Heart of Texas Series 8 by RJ Scott


Available on Amazon

When Hayley arrived on the steps of the D, Riley and Jack knew life would never be the same.

Told through Riley and Jack’s eyes, this is ten years in the life of their family and watching Hayley grow up, fall in love, and start her own life. Hurricanes, illness, babies, happiness, sadness, work, play, the barn, the office, horses, friends, enemies, and above all love.

A gift for every single reader who needed to know what happened next to Jack and Riley…



Reviewing this book is a bittersweet experience for me. I remember reading the very first book in this story, and falling so completely in love with Jack and Riley. They were young, funny, and sexy as all hell. After that first book, I was hooked to this couple, and have gladly read each installment of their episodic love. Now, all these years later, Ms. Scott is ending this series, and I feel both happy to have experienced this amazing love story, and saddened to leave the characters of Ms. Scott's wonderful world behind. So pardon me for a moment while I wipe the tears from my eyes, and compose myself enough to share my thoughts with you.

This story takes us through more than a decade of love between our heroes. Their eldest, Hayley is about to go to college, and Jack and Riley, especially Riley, are trying to figure out how to deal with their daughter's entrance into young adulthood. They're also dealing with some serious health issues that could put one of them in serious danger. Things are scary for a while, but the truth is they wouldn't be the Campbell-Hayes crew if their weren't some danger floating around.

What I found most intriguing about this trip down the future is that through it all, Jack and Riley are still Jack and Riley, and we still love them as much as we ever had from the start. Although the two men have grown in their love for one another, they are still recognizable to the reader as the same men we fell in love with in book one.

Another reason I loved and hated--not really, but you know what I mean--about this book is that with each chapter, there is a purposeful completion that lets us know its all ending. I felt the doors closing, sort of the way one feels when they're saying goodby to a loved one. You know its coming, you know its the end, you don't want to say goodbye, but you're so grateful you had a chance to be part of it all. That was what this last installment of the Heart of Texas series did for me. It allowed me to love them one last time, and say goodbye in a meaningful way to two men who allowed me to witness their love. Book 8 is truly a gift I am so grateful to have been given.

Author Bio

Email | Website | Facebook| Goodreads | Twitter | Libray Thing

RJ Scott is the bestselling romance author of over 100 romance books. She writes emotional stories of complicated characters, cowboys, millionaire, princes, and the men and women who get mixed up in their lives. RJ is known for writing books that always end with a happy ever after. She lives just outside London and spends every waking minute she isn't with family either reading or writing.The last time she had a week’s break from writing she didn't like it one little bit, and she has yet to meet a bottle of wine she couldn’t defeat.

#RJScott #TexasSeries #TexasGift #HeartofTexasSeriesBook8

39 views0 comments
  • Amazon
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • RSS
bottom of page